The Can Fu Master

My interview with Digital Spy. Where am I now, a year on since SYTYCD?

So You Think You Can Dance - Tommy

Tommy Franzén
2010 runner-up Tommy was nominated for a Critics’ Circle National Dance Award and is currently working with X Factor star Cher Lloyd.

How have the last 12 months been?
“It’s been brilliant and it’s still accelerating. It’s not stopped even 12 months on. I have moved slightly into choreography. I haven’t done that consciously because I want to dance for a bit longer. But I’ve had lots of requests and it’s just naturally moved that way without me trying. I can’t complain really.”

What projects are you working on right now?
“I’ve got three exciting projects at the moment. One is choreographing for Cher Lloyd, her first single and her promo tour, which is new to me. At the moment, I’ve got a show on at The Place, a show I’ve done with Supple, one of the choreographers for So You Think You Can Dance and creative director for Got To Dance . Then I’m also working on Some Like It Hip-Hop, where I’ll be choreographing and playing one of the leads. We’re doing a month of that at the Peacock Theatre.”

Is the Cher Lloyd work getting you lots of attention?
“The hype is so high about her. If you mention anything on Twitter all her fans start following me and start tweeting me, ‘say hello to Cher for me’. They are just so excited about what she’ll come out with, so I tease them a little bit with information and pieces like that.”

What do you make to her first single?
“I am actually. I think the song will do really well. Especially among teenagers. It’s really catchy. I think the video is going to be wicked too. From what I’ve seen on the shoot, I think it will be a good one. There is something special about her. She’s got that swagger and you can see that on X Factor when she’s performing. She moves really nicely too. She’s not a trained dancer or anything, but when she does, it’s really, really good.”

The So You Think You Can Dance final airs on Saturday at 7.15pm on BBC One.

By Alex Fletcher.

Leave a Reply

